The Memory Project

DSC_6947

 

The Memory Project is an exciting, innovative arts programme that uses drama and theatre to deal with the past and build pathways for the future and to promote peace, reconciliation and mutual understanding in Northern Ireland and the southern border counties.

The project was run by Smashing Times Theatre Company in collaboration with Corrymeela Community/Irish Peace Centres and is funded through the EU’s European Regional Development fund through the PEACE III Programme for Peace and Reconciliation managed by the Special EU Programmes Body.

The project consists of a series of creative storytelling happenings, workshops and dramatic performances, along with a television documentary which was made to record the process.

The Memory Tour of Performances 2013, 2014

Thurs 29 Aug 7.30pm        Thou Shalt Not Kill, Black Box,  College Tower St Campus.

Tues 25 March 8pm           Uprising, Droichead Arts Centre, Drogheda, County Louth.

Wed 26 March 8pm           Uprising, Garage Theatre, Monaghan, County Monaghan.

Thurs 27 March 8.30pm   Uprising,Ramor Theatre, Virginia, County Cavan

Fri 28 March 8pm               Uprising, The Dock, Carrick on Shannon, County Leitrim      

Sat 29 March 8pm              Uprising, Alley Arts Centre, Strabane, County Tyrone

Mon 31 March 8pm           Uprising, Derry Playhouse, Derry/Londonderry

Tues 1 April 8pm               Uprising, Riverside Theatre, Coleraine

Fri 30 May, 8pm                  Thou Shalt Not Kill, Naughton Studio, Lyric Theatre, Belfast

Sat 31 May 8pm                   Uprising, Naughton Studio, Lyric Theatre, Belfast

The storytelling and dramatic performances acknowledge and deal with the past by exploring and addressing the legacy, impact and memories of the conflict through a creative medium. The workshop programme with schools, youth groups and communities will promote anti-racism; anti-sectarianism; conflict resolution; equality and human rights. The purpose is to deal with the past history of conflict and to work collaboratively with a range of communities including young people and adults to build new pathways for a peaceful future.

The Memory Storytelling Tour 2013, 2014

Sat 27 July           Yeats Festival, The Model, The Mall, Sligo. Facilitator: Idan Meir

Sat 21 Sept         The Hub, Cookstown, County Tyrone. Facilitator: Maria McBride

Sun 29 Sept        Bluestacks Festival,  Ballyshannon, Co Donegal.  Facilitator: Idan Meir

Sat 12 Oct            Newry Women’s Group, Ballyholland  Foresters’ Club, Facilitator: Maria McBride

Sat 26 Oct            Metropolitan Arts Centre, 10 Exchange St, Belfast. Facilitator: Fiona Thompson,

Tues 29 Oct        Belfast Festival at Queens.  Venue: The Vine Centre, Belfast. Facilitator: Idan Meir

Sat 9 Nov             Shankill Women’s Centre, Belfast. Facilitator: Maria Mc Bride

Wed 13 Nov       Ards Arts Centre, Conway Square, Newtonards.   Facilitator: Maria McBride

Sat 23 Nov           GasyardsFeile,  Derry/Londonderry. Facilitator: Idan Meir

Sat 30 Nov           Baileborough  Arts Centre,  Baileborough. Facilitator: Fiona Thompson

Key elements of the Memory Project were captured on film and edited into a one hour Television Documentary broadcasted for national viewing. All materials generated by this project were then archived digitally online by CAIN (Conflict Archive on the Internet) and the University of Ulster INCORE International Conflict Research Institute for future research or reference by students, academics, community leaders and the general public.

 

EUUUUU

 

Comments are closed.